Get SF Weekly Newsletters

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Signal to Noise: Five Hot Dance Cuts From Local Producers

Posted By on Wed, Nov 30, 2011 at 10:11 AM

Bass music isn't the only thing 5kinAndBone5 likes about the UK
  • Bass music isn't the only thing 5kinAndBone5 likes about the UK

With all the music floating around the Internet, it can be easy to lose sight of the fact that there are a ton of talented local producers. This week's edition of Signal to Noise is riffing off that theme, with five tracks from Bay Area-related artists that produce in such diverse fields as house, UK bass, and anthemic hip-hop.

1. Vin Sol - Not The One

Born and raised in San Francisco, Vin Sol has been a fixture on the local scene for a long time. With releases on both Scion A/V and Fools Gold, he's recently been focusing on crafting a prolific output of smartly arranged deep house. "Not The One" is his latest, and it's a soulful late-night affair with muted chimes, a cut-up vocal, and jackin' 909 percussion. Slotting into a genre he refers to as "future deep," the track maintains a slick and contemporary production aesthetic all while referencing the best moments of classic house.

2. Sinden - G Like Me feat. G-Side (5kinAndBone5 4 The Streets VIP Mix)

Previously known for his hip-hop beats--such as YG's "Pop Painkillaz feat. Fred Wesley and Bernie Worrell"--local producer (previously a duo) 5kinAndBone5 has recently transferred his attention to the world of UK bass music. Affiliated with Fools Gold and Grizzly, he just dropped this remix of Sinden's "G Like Me feat. G-Side." A complete makeover, the new version takes the original's straightforward hip-hop swagger and converts it into a dubbed-out and bass-heavy exercise in speaker cone destruction.

3. Trackademicks - RADical feat 1-O.A.K.

All Shook Down readers ought to be no strangers to The Honor Roll Crew. The Wu Tang-like East Bay collective was spotlighted by us as 2010's Best New Hip-Hop Clique. Here's a relatively new one that features Honor Roll leader Trackademicks and the crew's vocalist and occasional producer 1-O.A.K. An exuberant ode to California (and the Bay Area in particular), "RADical" sees Trackademicks flowing over a rush of beatless synthesizers with soulful vocal accompaniment from 1-O.A.K. It might be almost the dead of winter, but at least you can enjoy this track about how great the Bay is in the summer time.

4. C.L.A.W.S - That Magik (Liveset Demo)

A longtime face on the Bay Area music scene, C.L.A.W.S. is responsible for such tasteful parties as Gentleman's Techno and OK Hole. Also a well-respected producer with tracks on Tigerbass and Bar25, C.L.A.W.S. recently shared this unmixed demo with the world. Raw and hard-hitting, "That Magik" takes its cues from the late-'80s with shuffling Italo-like percussion, sharp synth arpeggiations, and a warbly (but awesome) vocal hook. We're not sure when or where he's going to release this one, but it's definitely something to look out for.

5. Xosar - Tropical Cruize

Though not a resident of the Bay Area anymore, Xosar's productions are too good to ignore. "Tropical Cruize" is the title single off her debut EP on the Brooklyn-based/A1 Records-affiliated L.I.E.S. imprint. It's a haunting slice of house music complete with disembodied moans, analog synth tones, and complex drum percussion. Check out the video above made by old-school Chicago re-edit guru Marcus Mixx.


Follow us on Twitter @SFAllShookDown, follow Derek Opperman @DerrickLove, and like us at

  • Pin It

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About The Author

Derek Opperman


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Popular Stories

  1. Most Popular Stories
  2. Stories You Missed

Like us on Facebook


  • clipping at Brava Theater Sept. 11
    Sub Pop recording artists 'clipping.' brought their brand of noise-driven experimental hip hop to the closing night of 2016's San Francisco Electronic Music Fest this past Sunday. The packed Brava Theater hosted an initially seated crowd that ended the night jumping and dancing against the front of the stage. The trio performed a set focused on their recently released Sci-Fi Horror concept album, 'Splendor & Misery', then delved into their dancier and more aggressive back catalogue, and recent single 'Wriggle'. Opening performances included local experimental electronic duo 'Tujurikkuja' and computer music artist 'Madalyn Merkey.'"