Get SF Weekly Newsletters

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Mike Patton's Mondo Cane Disc Says Ciao to Italian Oldies

Posted By on Tue, Mar 23, 2010 at 11:24 AM

Along with corralling his Faith No More bandmates into appearances at Coachella and The Warfield, musical chameleon and Bay Area legend Mike Patton has been brushing up on his Italian. The adventurous Patton's upcoming album Mondo Cane indulges his love for '50s and '60s Italian oldies, and features the 42-year-old Eureka native singing -- in that innately musical tongue -- over a 40-piece orchestra and choir. Because, y'know, Patton's gazillion other projects were just a bit too predictable.

The all-covers collection includes "Urlo Negro," a 1960s tune about the Civil Rights struggle, and "Senza Fine," a song made famous by the beloved pop diva Connie Francis. Patton also wears his love for Ennio Morricone with a cover of "Deep Down," from the 1968 film Danger: Diabolik

Patton's own label, Ipecac, recently released the artwork and tracklist for Mondo Cane, which is due out May 4. Our pals at LA Weekly got an early listen and had good things to say: "There is a key difference between this release and the majority of Patton's enviable back-catalog: there's not a whiff of weird for weird's sake (with all due respect), making Mondo Cane -- and not the regrettably hip-hop infused Peeping Tom -- the true Patton pop record that his acolytes have been waiting for all these years." 
Our interested is piqued--especially after watching the video posted above. 

Here's the full track listing for Mondo Cane:

1. Il Cielo In Una Stanza

2. Che Notte!

3. Ore D'Amore

4. Deep Down

5. Quello Che Conta

6. Urlo Negro

7. Scalinatella

8. L'Uomo Che Non Sapeva Amare

9. 20 KM Al Giorno

10. Ti Offro Da Bere

11. Senza Fine

Follow us @SFAllShookDown.

  • Pin It

Tags: , ,

About The Author

Ian S. Port


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Popular Stories

  1. Most Popular Stories
  2. Stories You Missed

Like us on Facebook


  • clipping at Brava Theater Sept. 11
    Sub Pop recording artists 'clipping.' brought their brand of noise-driven experimental hip hop to the closing night of 2016's San Francisco Electronic Music Fest this past Sunday. The packed Brava Theater hosted an initially seated crowd that ended the night jumping and dancing against the front of the stage. The trio performed a set focused on their recently released Sci-Fi Horror concept album, 'Splendor & Misery', then delved into their dancier and more aggressive back catalogue, and recent single 'Wriggle'. Opening performances included local experimental electronic duo 'Tujurikkuja' and computer music artist 'Madalyn Merkey.'"