Get SF Weekly Newsletters

Thursday, May 21, 2009

Last Night: Fleetwood Mac at the Oracle Arena

Posted By on Thu, May 21, 2009 at 9:09 AM

Fleetwood Mac
Oracle Arena, Oakland
Photos by Christopher Victorio - Click here for a full slideshow
Better than:
Watching American Idol's downright infuriating finale with clenched fists.

Delving into the convoluted history of Fleetwood Mac is tantamount to stepping in a cow pile for the casual fan (and here I shall raise my hand), so let's sidestep cries of "heresy!" and stick to what went down at the Oracle last night.

When you've got a catalogue of hits like Fleetwood Mac, the quality of the show leans heavily on whether or not the band is in top form. And on this night, for most of the 20-song set, the band was tight and the vocals crisp. Father Time may have stiffened the bones of John McVie and Stevie Nicks (who headed backstage for a break and shawl swap after almost every song), but Mick Fleetwood and Lindsey Buckingham had obviously been eating their spinach - these two gentlemen of Pop had far more fun than anyone in the audience. Which is no easy feat considering the crowd was on its feet for more than half of the show, tears of nostalgia wetting many an eye.

Buckingham danced around the stage like a teen guitarist at his first show, beating his chest and blowing kisses to the crowd in heartfelt thanks - all but leaping into the pit of fans below in enthusiasm. (At one point, he had at least 6 pairs of fan hands playing his guitar.) Nicks, for her part, was her gypsy self, snaking hands in the air and gently swirling beneath the spotlights as best she could -- to be honest, from where we sat, she looked as though she were almost in pain, but when she sang it was smooth and seemed effortless.
click to enlarge fleetwoodimg_4695.jpg
The addition of three back-up singers, a guitarist and keyboardist (who also sang harmonies) contributed to the lush sound that is the hallmark of many a Fleetwood Mac recording.

Both Nicks and Buckingham commented on how thrilled they were to be back in the Bay, where their former band Fritz opened for acts like Jimi Hendrix and Janis Joplin. San Francisco is the "velvet underground" mentioned in "Gypsy," added Nicks before launching into the song.

Fan favorites "Go Your Own Way," "Landslide," "Dreams," "Say You Love Me" and "Rhiannon" made appearances, as did "Storms," which Nicks said had never been performed onstage outside the current tour.

Add dueling guitar leads between veteran guitarist Neale Heywood and Buckingham and an over-the-top drum solo from Fleetwood and you've got a show that will be bragged about having been at for quite some time.

Critic's Notebook:

Personal Bias:
Ever the sap, I was moved to tears by "Landslide."
Random Detail: Mick Fleetwood's flashy fire engine-red shoes were too cute.
By the way: Tickets are still available for tonight's Fleetwood Mac show in San Jose. Go go go.


And here's the set list:

1 Monday Morning
2 The Chain
3 Dreams
4 I Know I'm Not Wrong
5 Gypsy
6 Go Insane
7 Rhiannon
8. Second Hand News
9 Tusk
10 Sara
11 Big Love
12 Landslide
13 Never Going Back Again
14 Storms
15 Say You Love Me
16 Gold Dust Woman
17 Oh Well
18 I'm So Afraid
19 Stand Back
20 Go Your Own Way
21 World Turning
22 Don't Stop
23 Silver Springs

  • Pin It

About The Author

Janine Kahn


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Popular Stories

  1. Most Popular Stories
  2. Stories You Missed

Like us on Facebook


  • clipping at Brava Theater Sept. 11
    Sub Pop recording artists 'clipping.' brought their brand of noise-driven experimental hip hop to the closing night of 2016's San Francisco Electronic Music Fest this past Sunday. The packed Brava Theater hosted an initially seated crowd that ended the night jumping and dancing against the front of the stage. The trio performed a set focused on their recently released Sci-Fi Horror concept album, 'Splendor & Misery', then delved into their dancier and more aggressive back catalogue, and recent single 'Wriggle'. Opening performances included local experimental electronic duo 'Tujurikkuja' and computer music artist 'Madalyn Merkey.'"