Get SF Weekly Newsletters

Wednesday, January 9, 2008

Nada Surf Releases New Album, Plays Fillmore 3/22

Posted By on Wed, Jan 9, 2008 at 1:14 PM


With their new album "Lucky" slated to be released next month, the Nada Surf boys are making an SF stop during their newly announced tour. The press release:


Nada Surf Announces Spring 2008 Tour

Barsuk Records is proud to announce Nada Surf's Spring 2008 tour. Starting at SXSW, the tour will see the band supporting their forthcoming full-length release "Lucky" due out on February 5th, 2008.

Nada Surf have already sold out a short five-date run in late January/early February that will take them down the west coast and end in New York City on February 8th. Following these dates, the band heads to Europe for a headlining tour before returning for SXSW. During the spring American tour they will be joined by The Little Ones in March, and What Made Milwaukee Famous in April, with a one-off co-headlining gig with Superdrag at Terminal 5 in NYC on April 11th.

Nada Surf's fifth release to date, "LUCKY," was co-produced by the band and John Goodmanson (Death Cab For Cutie, Blonde Redhead, Sleater-Kinney). Many great artists make guest appearances on the record, including: Death Cab's Ben Gibbard, Ed Harcourt, John Roderick of the Long Winters, and guitarist Phil Wandscher of Jesse Sykes & the Sweet Hereafter.

Critical acclaim has followed Nada Surf through their career. Most recently, "MOJO" called "The Weight is a Gift" a "21st century pop masterpiece," while "Esquire" said their "poignant anthems" are "full of airtight melodies and huge twists." "Rolling Stone," weighed in, saying: "The band's tunes achieve a kind of sleight-of-hand majesty," while "Alternative Press" exclaimed the record is "nearly flawless." "Entertainment Weekly" called it "astoundingly good," and "USA Today" said Caws' lyrics "have both mystery and a universal touch."

For an early preview of the material on "Lucky" visit for a free download of the single "See These Bones". Or check out a this fan recording of the song "Whose Authority" as performed by the band at their 10/20/07 Apple Store appearance in

Chicago, IL. (

Tour Dates Below


* - w/ The Little Ones

& - w/ What Made Milwaukee Famous


17 - Tempe, AZ - Clubhouse Music Venue *

18 - San Diego, CA - House of Blues *

19 - Los Angeles, CA - Henry Fonda Theatre *

21 - Pomona, CA - Glass House *

22 - San Francisco, CA - Fillmore *

25 - Sacramento, CA - Harlow *

26 - Portland, OR - Crystal Ballroom *

28 - Seattle, WA - Showbox *

29 - Vancouver, BC - Commodore Ballroom *


01 - Denver, CO - Gothic Theatre &

02 - Omaha, NE - Waiting Room &

03 - Minneapolis, MN - First Avenue &

04 - Chicago, IL - Metro &

05 - Detroit, MI - St. Andrews Hall &

07 - Toronto, ONT - Opera House &

08 - Montreal, QBC - Club Soda &

10 - Boston, MA - Paradise Rock Club &

11 - New York, NY - Terminal 5 w/ Superdrag

12 - Washington, DC - 9:30 Club &

13 - Philadelphia, PA - Trocadero &

  • Pin It

Tags: , , ,

About The Author

Oscar Pascual


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Popular Stories

  1. Most Popular Stories
  2. Stories You Missed

Like us on Facebook


  • clipping at Brava Theater Sept. 11
    Sub Pop recording artists 'clipping.' brought their brand of noise-driven experimental hip hop to the closing night of 2016's San Francisco Electronic Music Fest this past Sunday. The packed Brava Theater hosted an initially seated crowd that ended the night jumping and dancing against the front of the stage. The trio performed a set focused on their recently released Sci-Fi Horror concept album, 'Splendor & Misery', then delved into their dancier and more aggressive back catalogue, and recent single 'Wriggle'. Opening performances included local experimental electronic duo 'Tujurikkuja' and computer music artist 'Madalyn Merkey.'"