Get SF Weekly Newsletters

Friday, July 6, 2007

New Interpol CD Review: "Our Love to Admire" gets a B+

Posted By on Fri, Jul 6, 2007 at 2:20 PM

One of the most anticipated albums of the year, Interpol's Our Love To Admire, goes on sale July 10. The All Shook Down micro-review: Not bad at all. It's slower, but very much classic Interpol. Fans will like it and the single "The Heinrich Maneuver" will draw in new ones.

The CD opens with "Pioneer to the Falls" featuring a furtive, single note guitar line, that's not distorted, very bright, precise, and dirgey. I will pray that the soul can take three stowaways sings the head of these former NYU art kids. And that mood really bookends the stuff in the middle. Other notes:

2) "No I in Threesome" -- Very good. Classic Interpol-tight drumming. Lyrics: Baby it's time we give something new a try. Indeed!

3) The Scale -- Solid. Not fucking with Interpo-rmula

4) The Heinrich Maneuver -- the very hot single. Download it.

5) Mammoth -- the weakest song on the album.

6) Pace is the Trick -- doesn't stand out either.

7) All Fired Up -- gets fired up at the end.

8) Rest My Chemistry -- very good intro riff. Classic Interpol riddle lyrics. This is their slow album. Chemistry is officially rested for next album.

9) Who Do You Think? -- Finally some uptempo shit. precise. spiffy.

10) Wrecking Ball -- more of same

11) The Lighthouse -- a real broody outro to the album. When considered with "Pioneer to the Falls", we're seeing a more reflective, pensive Interpol.

But once again. This album is so not a let down at all.

Final Score: B+, (looses points because it's graded on a curve against other Interpol albums.)

-David Downs

Interpol comes back to SF 10-20.

  • Pin It

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About The Author

David Downs


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Popular Stories

  1. Most Popular Stories
  2. Stories You Missed

Like us on Facebook


  • clipping at Brava Theater Sept. 11
    Sub Pop recording artists 'clipping.' brought their brand of noise-driven experimental hip hop to the closing night of 2016's San Francisco Electronic Music Fest this past Sunday. The packed Brava Theater hosted an initially seated crowd that ended the night jumping and dancing against the front of the stage. The trio performed a set focused on their recently released Sci-Fi Horror concept album, 'Splendor & Misery', then delved into their dancier and more aggressive back catalogue, and recent single 'Wriggle'. Opening performances included local experimental electronic duo 'Tujurikkuja' and computer music artist 'Madalyn Merkey.'"